Author Rights and Responsibilities

buried writerSo many of us dedicate ourselves to the craft of writing.  The construction of the novel, difficult though it may be, is still only one half of the battle.  I’m very confident in my writing, but I’m a babe in the woods when it comes to the wilds of publication!

Fortunately, there are people in the world like Rachelle Gardner.  Rachelle is a literary agent at the Books & Such agency.  Though the agency is based in California, she hails from my neck of the woods (or should I say Rockies)!  I just spent much longer than I intended roaming around her page, and I’m wiser for the experience.

The post that initially caught my eye is a doozy.  I’ve spoken with so many hopefuls in search of that sweet deal.  Many of them don’t have the slightest notion what’s expected from them, apart from that best-selling novel.  Get the agent and it’s as good as gold!  Wrong.   Deceptively simple, Rachelle explains in 12 bullet points not only the rights an author can expect when dealing with an agent, but also the responsibility that author bears to make the relationship work.

When you finish that article, look around her site.  You’ll be glad you did!

Leave a Reply

